Pet Semartary by Stephen King: Book Review

Rating Scale: ★★★★★

5: HOLY COW! Give me more, more, more!

I was attached to the characters, read the book super quickly, I was pulled in and connected with a realistic feel of the story, and there was a lot of aloud responses to this story: laughing, goose-bumps, widening-eyes, almost peeing oneself, and looking over my shoulder to make sure zombies weren’t behind me with sharp objects.

Movie GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY

1: Welp, that was a total waste of my time

  • It took me too long to finish (over a month) or I didn’t even both to finish the book.
  • Lacked in many of the following: pacing, characters, overall plot, entertainment, details, uniqueness, relevance, or style.

2: Meh, it passed the time okay

  • It took me too long to finish (about a month).
  • Lacked in several of the following: pacing, characters, overall plot, entertainment, details, uniqueness, relevance, or style.

3: Alright, I’ll keep reading the series. I enjoyed that

  • It didn’t take me longer than a month to read.
  • Lacked in at least one or two of the following: pacing, characters, overall plot, entertainment, details, uniqueness, relevance, or style.

4: Wow, I want to know what happens next! This author is great!

  • That was totally satisfying, but it could have been better in terms of some minor things such as: pacing, characters, overall plot, entertainment, details, uniqueness, relevance, or style.

Aahs:

  • The characters truly come to life as the story unfolds.
  • Fast-paced and only took me a few days to read.
  • The family has a pet cat which is a major character as the plot unfolds. There aren’t enough good stories with cats in them!
  • The ending is kind of a cliff hanger in a way, it leaves you smiling and your mind reeling with possibilities of what happened next.

Wow GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY

Genre:

  • Horror: supposed to scared you to death, well what’s more scary than death itself? King knows what’s scary and in this novel, he hits the nail on the head. Not only is the basic idea of death terrifying in this novel, but the way King weaves the story through what-ifs and the overall imagery of the “sematary” is down-right SCARY.

“And the most terrifying question of all may be just how much horror the human mind can stand and still maintain a wakeful, staring, unrelenting sanity.”

Reaction GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY

Theme: “Sometimes dead is better.”

This novel really focuses on the terror of death, the unknown which follows, as well as the what-if’s and regrets which are entangled in death. If you aren’t a fan of having to think about such things, you may not want to pick up this book.

Literary Devices:

Some people may be easily offended by the non-religious outlooks on this book; however, I read it simply as a work of fiction. Even fiction can work into helping us reflect on our lives and morals and beliefs. I believe horror helps us connect better to our own inner fears, the heart of what holds us back. King gets at the heart of fear in this one: death and the unknown. Many of his characters laugh when faced with horrible situations. It just shows that when these atrocious situations occur, sometimes we totter on the edge of sanity where laughter seems to be the only answer.

Scared GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY

Uniqueness Scale: 

5 – Never heard of and leaves you flabbergasted!

1 – Tale as old as time…*yawn*

2 – Same old, same old…yet enjoyable.

3 – Same tale…with a twist?

4 – New and refreshing!

Recommend?:

Yes. However if you are new to Stephen King or the genre of horror, I wouldn’t recommend this one first. You may need to ease into horror. This book is one of my favorites by Stephen King now, but I think one must be familiar with the horror genre in order to make it through without soiling oneself. If you are easily offended by religious references that are against Christian beliefs, you may want to NOT read Stephen King or simply realize it’s a work of fiction and move on.

Annoyed GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY

Where can I read it?

I bought my copy from my local Barnes and Nobles, but it is available wherever they sell Stephen King books (which is almost everywhere honestly!).


What is the scariest story you have heard? Let me know in the comments!

Yes GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY


LIKE THIS CONTENT?

Leave a comment and let me know what YOU think!

Don’t see the review you want? What would you like to see reviewed?

Books, movies, tv shows, music, food, restaurants, etc?

Shoot me an email with your suggestions: lolabugz77@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

